Useful Links  Site Map  Greek
General Information
Library Catalogs
List of Works
Greek Music Archive
  Digital Greek Music Archive  
Educational & Research Programs
Contacting the Library
Digital Library
Notebook (articles)

You are here: HomePage| Greek Music Archive |
Maria Kalogridou (1922-2001)


The library’s collection was enriched by the donation of the Archive of Maria Kalogridou (1922-2001) which includes handwritten scores, recordings on magnetic tapes and documents pertaining to the composer’s life.

Maria Kalogridou studied piano at the Hellenic Conservatory and later at the Conservatory of Athens with Spyros Farantatos and Marika Papaioannou (1950, piano diploma, 1st prize). She studied composition with Tito Sprea in Rome (1952-55) where she also worked on music for children’s ballets and the composition of small pieces for piano.  During the period 1955 – 1967 she lived in London and studied piano with Harold Craxton. [1]


[1] Symeonidou, Aleka, Dictionary of Greek Composers, Athens: Nakas, c1995,  page 163

Print Back to the top