Useful Links  Site Map  Greek
General Information
Library Catalogs
List of Works
Greek Music Archive
  Digital Greek Music Archive  
Educational & Research Programs
Contacting the Library
Digital Library
Notebook (articles)

You are here: HomePage| Greek Music Archive | Archives| Notebook|
Alexandra Trianti Collection

A leading member of the Friends of Music Society Alexandra Trianti contributed greatly to the completion of the Athens Concert Hall, and left all her property to the Friends of Music Society.

Her library and archives devolved to the Music Library Lilian Voudouri in May 1993, after the death of her husband Michael Kyriakides, and represent the Library’s first material.

The collection consists of :

1. 2.500 Greek and foreign books. It includes books concerning on the one hand music and on the other hand topics of general interest, history, literature, touring, and others. They date from the beginning of the century, and many of them bear dedications of the writers to A. Trianti or to her husband. They have been incorporated in the general collection of the Library.

Scores of orchestral works, works for piano, operas, Lieder. The collection of scores of works from her repertoire, especially Lieder, presents exceptional interest. It consists of more than 500 scores with works of F. Schubert, R. Schumann, F. Chopin, L. van Beethoven, J. Brahms, H. Wolf, C. Loewe, and others. The valuable, outmost interesting characteristic is that this is the material which A. Trianti herself used for study, and in which she entered notes on aspects of interpretation, Greek translations of the verses or her criticisms. This material comprises, among others, Greek works by Mitropoulos, Petridis, Poniridis, Riadis, Labdas, Lialos, Papamicropoulos, Lalaounis which the composers had offered and dedicated to her. She herself had put them into special files with the indication “Greek”. Valuable acquisitions for the Music Library Lilian Voudouri are manuscripts of Riadis, Poniridis, Lalaounis, and others which are included in the collection.

3. An archive which comprises programs from her recitals in Greece and in European cities, which she visited from the 20s to the 50s (Berlin, Stockholm, Milan, Paris, London and others). Criticism from newspapers on her interpretation is also included.

4. Tape recordings from one of her recitals accompanied by Michael Raucheisen.

The material, which is being described in paragraphs 2, 3 and 4, due to its uniqueness, has been classified as rare material, and access will be given only to researchers working on special topics.

Stephania Merakos

Print Back to the top